Goodluck Jonathan Snubbed For $5m Mo Ibrahim African Leadership Prize – Entertainment Express

2 min read


Against expectation, former President of Nigeria, Goodluck Ebele Jonathan alongside other former African leaders did not meet the requirements for the 2015 version of the yearly prestigious $5 million Mo Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership, the organizers announced yesterday.

The former Nigerian leader has been dubbed Hero of Democracy for conceding defeat to the opposition party candidate, General Muhammadu Buhari after he lost the election.

The prize, largest annually awarded prize in the world, rewards former African leaders who demonstrated sterling qualities while in office, served their constitutionally mandated term; and demonstrated exceptional leadership.

The Prize recognises and celebrates African executive leaders who, under challenging circumstances, have developed their countries and strengthened democracy and human rights for the shared benefit of their people, paving the way for sustainable and equitable prosperity.

The award is also a standard for excellence in leadership in Africa. A winner enjoys $5m over 10 years and another $200,000 yearly for life and can also ask for another $200,000 for good causes he or she supports.

So far, only the former presidents of Mozambique, Joaquim Chissano; Botswana’s Festus Mogae; Namibia’s Hifikepunye Pohamba; and Pedro Piers of Cape Verde have clinched the award.



  • Box Office

    We review the films they have made most of this year in the world, where they dominate Dis…
  • News from Entertainment Industry

    What is the future of media and entertainment? The entertainment and media industry is und…
  • Entertaining Online Games

    Many players like to play with their friends or against unknown opponents online. To do th…
  • Oscars 2019

    Peter Farrelly’s Green Book won the award for Best Film in the 91st edition of the O…
Load More Related Articles

Check Also

Oscars 2019

Peter Farrelly’s Green Book won the award for Best Film in the 91st edition of the O…